LEMON GARLIC RED SNAPPER, HOMEFRIES & AN AVOCADO, CARROT ORIENTAL SALAD

20151224_135426.jpg

Happy New Year!! It feels like I’m spring cleaning an old lady hoarders attic…. it’s been a while since posted! Hopefully its like riding a bike or a roll in the sack after a long dry spell…you get the gist!

A lot has happened since I last posted something…I started postgraduate school, travelled quite a bit, ate quite a lot, moved houses…cooked up a storm (I have pictures for evidence!) always meaning to post something but between school, work and squeezing in my reality TV fix I literally felt like my day had 16 hours! It wasn’t all frenzy and headless chicken running around though- there were times when my life was very simple but most of the time it felt as complicated as a Facebook relationship status … to sum it up between September 2015 and today…

We had awesome holiday….I took my leave of absence from work in November, because I had exams, and I resumed work in January so the only bags under my eyes are Chanel! We really had no itinerary for our holiday, a few days before Christmas a friend of ours- Sarah popped into our new place and we got to talking about how we were over  ‘Kenyan Coast  December Plans’ (picture us sipping tea with our pinkies pointing out disdainfully imagining the throngs of humanity that would no doubt be at the Coast….with the exception of pookibear, he would be holding his tea mug- pssst, tea mug versus tea cup totally makes this scene uber masculine!…. oh and of course there were crumpets and cucumber sandwiches with the edges cut off…..I left out the scones because I feel in Kenya scones are not very high tea-ish!! hahahahaha!). Now where was I….ah! yes so we started talking about Kisumu and Sarah mentioned her parents beach house……It was at this point that I told Pookiebear #byefelicia and packed all my earthly possessions in readiness to move in with Sarah’s folks…There was however one little problem- I had put the cart before the unicorn (which are real by the way…as are mermaids, mermen, merbabies and the perfect spouse) I really should post more often because all this digression goes to show how wild the voices in my head have become! back to my story…the little problem was that I had not gotten directions to the said beach house so when Sarah saw my bags packed she got tight lipped after which I threatened to Jump off the ledge…realizing the severity of the situation, she talked me down from what would surely have been a knee grazing second storey jump! She was kind enough to invite us to the beach house for christmas ( WE DID NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES THREATEN TO LOCK HER IN OUR PANTRY IF SHE DID NOT EXTEND THAT INVITE) and we graciously accepted the invite!

Long story short, Pookibear and I decided to turn that into a road trip which was totally awesome… Zizmaroo thoroughly enjoyed it! (more on that in later posts!). On our departure day I made us some skillet lemon garlic red snapper, aioli, home fries and an avocado and carrot salad with sesame, honey vinaigrette….salivating just recalling!

✦⊱ཞ INGREDIENTS ཞ⊰✦

The Red Snapper:

Lemon garlic red snapper| Abida's Kitchen

Lemon garlic red snapper

  • 1 Kg Red snapper filler
  • Virgin olive oil
  • Butter
  • 4 medium sized Lemons
  • 3 cloves garlic ( I think!)
  • 2 tbsp Ground black pepper
  • A dash of spanish paprika and oregano for seasoning
  • Finger licking skills

 

 Aioli

Aioli....and "dip etiquette"... Do not double dip...but you sure can dip your fist in there!
Zizmaroo demonstrating Aioli….and general “dip etiquette”… double dipping is frowned upon…but you sure can dip your fist in there!

 

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 medium sized Lemon
  • I clove garlic
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tablespoon salt
  • dip etiquette…no double dipping!

Home fries:

20151224_135145

  • 1/2 Kg potatoes
  • 2 Knorr Chilli beef Cubes
  • 1/2 table spoon tumeric
  • 1/4 tablespoon salt
  • Corn oil for frying
  • Water to boil
  • A large apetite

Avocado & Carrot Salad:

Avocado and Carrot Salad with a Sesame & Honey Vinaigrette

  • I large Avocado
  • 5 carrots
  • 2 Tbsp’s Sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 2 tsp’s Honey

 

✦⊱ཞ DIRECTIONSཞ⊰✦

Red snapper

Slice the red snapper fillets to your preferred size.

For the marinade, pound (that’s what she said!!) the garlic, squeeze four lemons mix the olive oil, lemon and garlic and black pepper and coat the fish fillet. Do this for an hour or more…the longer you do it for the deeper it penetrates… (do not read that last statement in a sultry voice!), if you are marinating it for long then pop the fish in the fridge but if its for an hour or less then you can do this sans the fridges contribution!

Heat your cast iron skillet (A cast iron skillet is great because the fish gets an awesome golden brown crust… we eat with our eyes first so optics are half the battle won! I Prefer to use the pan I use for chapati’s rather than the smaller individual portion ones I have as it  provides me with a larger surface area- I can pan fry more fish ergo gerr ourra the kitchen fast and do whats truly important- EAT…one ore upside fewer dishes to clean!

Add 2-3 tablespoons of the olive oil butter spread it across your pan (the pan should be hellishly hot) and place your fillet on the supper hot pan, cook it till it gets a nice crust ( depending on thickness of your fillet, this should take 2- 3 mins.) Flip it over and turn down the heat. Cook for another 3 minutes. Place on a platter and let it rest for 2-3 minutes under a foil ‘tent’. Quarter the last lemon sprinkle some lemon juice, Spanish paprika and dried oregano over the red snapper and serve.

Aioli

In a bowl  thoroughly mix the mayo, crushed garlic and squeezed lemon , and voila…it can now be spooned (spooning on a hot night is all kinds of torture!! When pookiebear and were first dating eons ago we were Mr. and Mrs. Spoon…we were committed spooners, we’d spoon, sweat, slip and slide but NEVER let go!! now that is what we call devotion!!… This is vital information for anyone cooking fish!) into the bowl you’ll serve it in and sprinkle some oregano.

Home fries

It’s amazing how potatoes give us fries, crisps and vodka!

Peel and slice the potatoes into wedges. Place the wedges in a pot, submerge the potatoes in water and add the salt, turmeric and Knorr chilli cubes.

Boil the potatoes till they are just about mushy ( I use a cake tester, if there’s a little bit of resistance when you poke the potatoes then take the pot off the cooker…the hot water will continue to cook the potatoes to mushy perfection!). It is very important that you stay present (call me #zenmommy) because the moment you go on Pinterest or go to get your reality T.V fix is the moment you will say sayonara home fries aloha mashed potatoes! (sadly I have an honorary doctorate in this!). Keep an eye on your potatoes once they are off the cooker, you want them to maintain form but have a bit of mush- this guarantees home fries that are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside ( I hope my technical epicurean terms such as mush won’t put you off) so once you spot this desired state, drain the water from the pot.

Pour your corn oil into a wok…you can use a deep frier if you are one of those people who are into pointless gadgets that take up counter-space!…(the amount of oil you will use depends on the size of your wok but you want the potatoes to be covered by the oil). Heat the oil and deep fry the potatoes wedgies wedges to crispy perfection!

Avocado & Carrot Oriental Salad:

For the vinaigrette, add the rice wine vinegar to the sesame oil incrementally and whisk  till well mixed, add the honey to taste.

Peel and slice the avocado and carrots into whichever shape makes your heart skip a beat, plate and drizzle the sesame & honey vinaigrette. ( I got inspiration for this vinaigrette from Furusato, my friend Liz and I had dinner and the moment their entrée hit my mouth my brain went into overdrive trying to identify individual ingredients in the vinaigrette!! oooh oooh if you add ginger to this world you don’t need to have a “Big O” for another 1 year…this vinaigrette hits the same pleasure centre in your brain as when you get an orgasm! Who needs mind boggling sex when you can eat a salad!)

image-4

image-3

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks amazing! Thank you for sharing! Have some snapper in the fridge!

  2. msnjoki says:

    clearly i had missed your articles…thank you for the dose of humor, making me salivate and who needs a Nigella for cooking inspiration when i got you 🙂

Leave a Reply

