FLOWERS, LEOPARD PRINT HEELS, SOME SOUR DOUGH BREAD AND MUNG BEAN SOUP???

Leopard Print is a neutral….said a very wise Jersey girl worth her salt (picture Olivia or Tracey from Jerseylicious…those a words they’d have uttered….I think!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Mung Bean Soup

Mung bean soup |abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Judge all you want I already announced to the world my very discerning taste when it comes to T.V shows … if you missed my coming-out (as a reality T.V junkie) then let me bring you up to speed….

  • If they have a pulse, are breathing have camera’s following them around as they do things like take bum selfies… or worse-those pouty selfies (Kim –Insert Cardinal Point– Nee Kardashian);
  • If they don’t hesitate to lunge across dinning tables (in classy restaurants) with wine bottles (Evelyn Lozada);
  • If they wear enough eyeliner to put a racoon to shame and spot hair do’s that need clearance from airspace authorities ( The Jerseylicious Cast)
  • After this confession I feel I need to redeem myself … I like Oprah’s Lifeclass and I actually try to lead a Zen, meaningful life…. I EVEN KNOW SOME YOGA POSES…like downward dog (very useful even when partaking in non-yoga interactions… ahem! ahem!)  Lotus pose…FINE! FINE! I just googled the Lotus pose!

Anyway! if a shows’ content has anything to do with the first 3 bullets then I am sold!Sign me up for the lifetime membership!

DISCLAIMER: While I may enjoy viewing the shows I certainly do not share the same fashion sensibilities with some of the ladies on those casts.

(NOTE TO MY INNER SELF: on the totem pole of things to denounce (out loud/on your blog) about reality shows, fashion sense is very low on that totem pole!!!)

Now hang on,you are on the right blog now by no means do I claim to be a reality show analyst…or a fashionista (unless I’m standing infant of my mirror or I’m on pinterest… feel free to follow me (Abida Buoro)… why am I telling bald faced lies????I actually think my fashion sense is killer!! Vain much Abby?!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Stop and smell the “roses”. Life is short. Take time to take in the fragrant world around you.

Today I picked up my flowers, I do this every fortnight (not religiously though!) because a girl needs fresh flowers, a spot of leopard…and a birkin bag ( as a hold all for your sour dough bread) if you are so lucky!)  All the fresh flowers inspired me to do a little photoshoot…of the sour dough bread….and my leopard print T-strap shoes! and if you are wondering why the mung bean soup in the title of the post looks like an after thought… it’s because secretly I wanted to talk about my leopard print shoes…but since I’ve been masquerading as a food writer I had to throw in a comestible into the post : fake it till you make it mentality (The Abida who loves reality T.V) or manifest your reality mentality (The Abida who just completed the ‘Manifesting Grace through Gratitude ‘ 22 day meditation with Oprah & Deepak Chopra and thinks Gabby Bernstein is a rock star…..These parallel personalities totally exist in the same person!!!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Only the pure in heart can make a good soup – Ludwig Van Beethoven

✦⊱ཞ INGREDIENTS ཞ⊰✦

3 cups cooked green grams aka mung beans aka ndengu (mung bean soup sounds fancier than ndengu soup!!)

  • 2 Tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1 large onion diced
  • 2 cups sliced carrots
  • 5 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1 beet, diced
  • 1 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 4 royco cubes (the green kind whose aroma has your mother in law riffling through your kitchen trying to find where you’ve hidden the meat)
  • 1 Tsp royco
  • 2 Tsp Paprika
  • 1 cup coconut cream

✦⊱ཞ DIRECTIONSཞ⊰✦

In a pot heat the sunflower oil, and caramelize the onions, add the carrots and stir, cook for 3 mins, add the garlic and stir. Once the garlic gives off its aroma add the beets and stir. Add the paprika, royce cubes, royce and tomato paste and stir well, Pour some a cup of water into the pot and mix well, then place a lid on the pot and let the mixture simmer. once the carrots begin to soften, add the boiled green grams aka mung beans aka ndengu into the pot and let it cook for a further 5 minutes.

Transfer the mung beans to a blender and blend to the consistency you would like (I blended it in 3 batches). Return the puree to the pot and re-heat, once its bubbling, add the coconut cream (you may opt to use more than a cup depending on your taste buds) let it simmer and serve. (You may also add water if you find the consistency of your soup is too thick even after adding the coconut cream.)

It is impossible not to love someone who makes toast for you- Nigel Slater

I served this soup with sour dough bread which I picked up on my home from work. I drizzled some olive oil on it and toasted it in a panini maker.

Sour dough bread

Sour dough bread |abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

I love how hearty and filling this soup turned out to be….my friend Liz on the other hand did not agree with me!!

P.S: I seasoned the mung beans heavily prior to blending…because if your beans are BLAND then your soup will be BLEH!

Mung bean soup |abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Mung bean soup |abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

With my belly full I proceeded to take a few selfies (my self righteous indignation for selfie sticks is slowly waning!) to prove to all those critics (read as LIZ) who said I did not have hazel eyes!!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

image-4 image-3

One thought on “FLOWERS, LEOPARD PRINT HEELS, SOME SOUR DOUGH BREAD AND MUNG BEAN SOUP???

Leave a Reply

