RIB-EYE STEAK WITH BASALMIC DRIZZLE , STRAWBERRY AVOCADO & SUNFLOWER SEED SALAD WITH A BASALMIC-HONEY VINAIGRETTE

A love like mine is rare. So is the steak I just sent back to the kitchen. But you’d damn well better not send my love back -Jarod Kintz

I couldn’t agree more with Jarod, my sentiments about steak are: if a good vet could have it back on its feet in less than 15 minutes re- moo-ve (couldn’t resist throwing in a cow pun) it from my plate & put it back on the grill  ….I like mine Medium rare! Perfect segway for today’s post on my cast iron skillet rib eye steak with a basalmic vinegar reduction  served with a strawberry, avocado and sunflower salad with a basalmic-honey vinaigrette… I’m salivating just typing the characters!!

Skillet Rib Eye Steak with a Basalmic Orange Vinegar Reduction served with Avocado Strawberry Salad
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com | Iron Skillet Rib Eye Steak with a Basalmic Orange Vinegar Reduction

The day: A sunday

Time: Some time between coffee o’ clock and coffee o’ clock

Place (s): My kitchen, Karura Forest, Toi Market, My Kitchen, My Verandah/patio/porch (whatever the correct name is!), My living room….the little girls room, back to the living room then….. “Abida! Snap out of it!”

Moving on…

Cast: Lister, Zizmaroo & I

Several Sundays ago my friend Lister and I took Zizmaroo to Karura Forest cycling. I could wax poetic about Karura Forest! It is one of my many favourite paces in Kenya and the fact that it’s about half an hours drive from my house (this is highly dependent on weather conditions – whenever it rains Nairobians turn into headless chickens behind the wheels; time of the month {NO this has nothing to do with PMS!} – there are fewer cars on the road mid-month…or whenever Energy Regulatory Commission reviews fuel rates upwards!; If I decide to stop over somewhere for a gigantic meal – I am about to work it off after all; whether KENHA/KURA (our roads authorities) have decided to repair roads during peak traffic times!! (which always seems to be the case)…….What I’m getting at is if the stars and moon align to create perfect conditions for my zodiac sign {VIRGO BABY!} I think I just failed miserable at trying to sound mythical with this last statement!, then it takes me half an hour!!). Which is Fantastic! I love the tranquility, the awe-inspiring vistas, I love to take walks there, cycle, jog ( this peculiar half trot half walk half jog that I do when I say I’m jogging!) I love Prof. Wangare Mathai, the fierce Nobel Laureate who literally had her braids pulled off her skull just so that Zizmaroo, myself and other Kenyans would not only enjoy being in the forest but also benefit from the numerous ecosystem benefits.

Cycling in Karura Forest
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

As we were leaving Karura Forest, I asked Lister to accompany me cast iron skillet shopping at Toi Market…I have been planning on getting the small ( I know size is relative so when I say small there are people out there whose eyebrows have instantaneously severely arched…

{Side bar: I have such a good eyebrow story to share…back in Uni, I accompanied my friend Liz to get her eyebrows done and the lady who was doing it had plucked hers off and then drawn them back on! so I remember whispering to Liz that I hoped she wasn’t a walking billboard for her own work!). So Liz proceeded to describe how she wanted her brows done and I distinctly remember her saying the word thick…..few minutes later the only “thick” thing in the room was the tension on my face as I desperately tried to hold back my laughter…If you haven’t guessed it…her eyebrows had been plucked off and she was now spotting drawn eyebrows…that weren’t even symmetrical!!!}

…as I was saying I have no inkling what the diameter of the skillets are, I just know they are small (so un-arch those eyebrows dammit)…the kind where you can prepare single portions in!)

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

I love Toi Market…it’s a really awesome place to get inexpensive styling props and all that cast iron skillet shopping inspired me to make some cast iron skillet steak… I’m not a beefy kinda girl….well I suppose that depends on which definition of beefy you refer to!!! I am making reference to the cow beefy…not the “guurl you looking kinda beefy, lay off the dorito’s” kinda beefy!!! or the “beef” between rappers with names like Friday and Lil…something or honey combs!!!! PEOPLE! the only beef on the table should be a nice steak!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |

So once we were done skillet shopping we popped into the butchery in Adams Arcade picked up a Kilogram of Rib eye steak (these were four portions) then we walked next door to the grocery got some salad leaves, avocados, strawberries and headed on home to break in those cast iron babies.

P.S: All the food items we bought cost approximately KSh. 1200 and it could have fed 4 people… in a swanky restaurant you’d probably have paid double that for one individual serving! So more of you should join the ‘don’t use your oven to store sweaters’ band wagon….years later and I still need therapy because Sex and The City ended!!!

✦⊱ཞ Ingredients ཞ⊰✦

For the Steak:

  • 1 Kg Rib eye steak
  • Basalmic vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

For the brine:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 2 cups water

For the Salad:

  • Mixed salad leaves
  • 500g Strawberries
  • 1 large avocado
  • A handful of sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup Basalmic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbps Honey

✦⊱ཞ Directions  ཞ⊰✦

Set your table.

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

For the Steak: Constitute the brining solution. Brine the rib eye steak for a minimum of 3 hours ( I did it for 30 mins…but YOU should do as I say not as I do!!!) Place your cast iron skillet on the stove top and pre-heat.

Place the steak on a chopping board and drizzle some olive oil on it, then grind black pepper onto it and finally sprinkle some salt, massage the steak.

Place the steak on the super hot cast iron skillet and sear one side (don’t poke, prod, keep turning the poor steak once you place it on the skillet leave it in peace and let the heat work its magic! Once you have a nice sear flip it over and let it cook. Once it’s ready, remove the skillet from the fire, add about 2 Tbsp basalmic vinegar to each skillet – it will quickly reduce due to the high temperatures and leave you with an awesome sauce/drizzle for your steak. I served the steak in the skillet so everyone’s skillet had all that flavour punch!

Cover each skillet with foil paper and let you steak rest for at least 5 mins before you dive headfirst into it.

Iron Skillet Rib Eye Steak with a Basalmic Orange Vinegar Reduction
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com | Iron Skillet Rib Eye Steak with a Basalmic Orange Vinegar Reduction

Now if you took note of my opening quote…I don’t want the cow mooing on my plate…I also don’t want the poor steak cremated! I like mine medium to medium well. Below is a rough guide to the cooking time for all preferences with the ‘mooing cow on plate’ to ‘cremated cow on plate’ spectrum:

  • Rare: Cook it for one minute on each side
  • Medium Rare: 2 minutes on each side
  • Medium: 3 minutes on each side
  • Medium Well: 4 Minutes on each side
  • Well: 5 Minutes on each side

For the Salad:

Run the salad leaves and strawberries under a tap….or if like me you are all about conserving water (read as: where I live the water supply is like the average Kenyans income, you never know when it’s going to check in!! hahahaha! I really should give stand up comedy a try!) wash them in a basin!

Laughter is brightest where food is best- Irish Proverb

Avocado, strawberry salad with a honey basalmic vinaigrette
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com | Avocado, strawberry salad with a honey basalmic vinaigrette

Slice the strawberries.

Peel your avocado slice it in half along the vertical plane,then slice each half along the horizontal plane (Toss your avocado slices in some lime juice or vinegar so that they don’t oxidize.)

Constitute you salad and sprinkle the sunflower seeds.

20150705_174552

For the dressing:

Whisk the basalmic vinegar, olive oil and 1 Tbsp of honey. Taste and add the second Tbsp of honey if you’d like. Add a pinch of salt whisk and your vinaigrette is ready.

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |Honey Basalmic Vinaigrette

Al fresco dining is the next best thing since sliced bread so we sat on our patio and indulged!

Lister drizzled the dressing on her salad…

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

I lovingly gazed down at the rib eye steak on my plate as Zizmaroo helped herself to some of the salad….

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |

The next time I looked up (approximately 2 seconds later) there was nothing where Lister’s salad had been…

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Alarmed by the rate at which Aunty Lister was eating inhaling her salad, Zizmaroo promptly topped up my salad!!!!!

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com |

Once Zizmaroo had taken care of the welfare of her mama’s stomach, she squeezed in a little reading…

abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Calories don’t count when there’s ice cream on the table!- Abida Buoro

And because life just wouldnt be right if there was no dessert, I served my strawberry and raspberry ripple no-churn ice cream and I topped it off with a strawberry and basalmic reduction…. the sun had gone down….so my pictures of the desert were crappy, but I’ll share them nonetheless!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM  & STRAWBERRY BASALMIC DRIZZLE
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

images-5 image-4 image-3

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Clare says:

    Your hands and brains coordinate really well

  2. Can’t deal with these lunch-time posts.

  3. Shella says:

    Oh, i can only imagine the way the food tasted..( where was i) gatta be there for the next meal hons…..i can see how the sunflower seeds are becoming a favorite…love love love..:)

    Psst..i love Karura forest too…lets plan a date there soon with the kids.

  4. Maithya says:

    Talk of perfect timing!!!!! You posted at lunch time:( 😦

    1. abidabuoro says:

      I was thinking about you….thats why!!!

Leave a Reply

