STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO CHURN ICE CREAM

The Kitchen is a laboratory and everything that happens there has to do with science. Its biology, chemistry, physics. Yes there’s history. Yes there’s artistry. Yes to all of that. But what happens there, what actually happens to the food is all science.-Alton Brown.

This quote is giving me such Dexter-esque inspirations (And just for the record I am referring to Dexter from Dexters Lab, not Dexter from Dexter – the tv series about the serial killer! great show though. So no need to switch off the lights and pretend to not be home, when I ring your doorbell!!!), who needs an apron in the kitchen?!, I will just go ahead and get myself a lab coat!

So for those of you who have the grace of Dee Dee in the kitchen (yes I’m milking this Dexter’s Lab analogy for all I’ve got!) read Alton Brown’s quote and transform yourselves into scientists….. I just might get myself a pair of geeky eyewear to go with the lab coat!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

I don’t know about you but I do love a tool…. a kitchen tool….although God knows I have dated a couple of the former!!! But for this post I’m referring to the latter! I could spend hours poring over kitchen gadgets and appliances…the same could be said for furniture, flatware, Pinterest, Nigella Lawson’s cookbooks (she is my sHe-roe!!)….okay clearly this list is getting too long and I cannot for the love of me recall what I was getting at! MMPPPH! what was I attempting to get across??! Ah! yes I was giving you an insight into  my love of tools men with tool belts ( though I have to say, I am yet to meet a carpenter, construction worker, fireman or mechanic who looks like their counterparts in movies do!!!!). Despite my never-ending love of kitchen gadgets (and ice-cream) I have never dreamt of one day owning a ice-cream maker, and YES I said dreamt ( I dream of cooking ranges, fridges and food processors that I want to buy, I dreamt of the Le Creuset dutch oven that I now own….and to think I got it in adams market for Ksh. 1500!!!! STEAL! I also dream of other things that I will not be sharing with you as they fall into the WTI (way too inappropriate!) category. So enough about me and my dreams about shirtless  oooops I almost spilled the WTI beans! If any beans are to be spilled used for the strawberry and raspberry ripple ice-cream, then it should be Vanilla beans!!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

I don’t care who you are, if you don’t like ice-cream, there is something inherently wrong with you!- Abida Buoro

I hope my friend Lister reads this!

If you aren’t devouring ice cream on account of  watching your weight….then you can take this to the bank because a very wise transgender (I couldn’t decide whether I should say wise man or wise woman…so I went with transgender!) said it :

Don’t be afraid of a few extra pounds. Fat people are harder to kidnap.

If the very wise hypothetical transgenders’ words have moved you then go ahead and sprinkle some chocolate over that ice cream, after all:

Chocolate comes from cocoa, which is a tree. That makes it a plant. Chocolate is a salad.

Seeing as I love Ice cream, want to marry it and have baby ice creams with it, my discovery of No-Churn ice-cream was akin to that ‘Newton and the apple’ moment for me! and the pull to make the ice cream sans an ice cream maker, much like gravity could not be resisted so as promised in my previous post here’s the recipe.

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

✦⊱ཞ Ingredients ཞ⊰✦

Ice cream Base

  • 350ml heavy whipping cream
  • 750g sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoon vanilla extract (even better) 1 vanilla bean, seeds removed

To cause ripples in ice-cream society:

  • 1 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 3 Tsps Honey
  • 1 stick of butter

✦⊱ཞ Directions ཞ⊰✦

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the butter and once melted, add the strawberries, raspberries and honey. Cook until caramelized, about 4 minutes. Let it cool before adding it to the ice cream.

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

Pour  heavy cream, sweetened condensed milk and the vanilla essence or seeds from a vanilla bean to a bowl.

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

Using a hand-held electric mixer whip until stiff peaks form.

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

Gently fold in the strawberries and raspberries and all wonderful berry caramel that’s in the pan.  Spoon the ice cream into a freezer safe container and freeze 5 hours or overnight. Proceed to lick the bowl, spatula and whisks!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

Spoon the ice cream into a freezer safe container and freeze 5 hours or overnight. Proceed to lick the bowl, spatula and whisks!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

I froze mine over night and this is what I had to look forward to!

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

The next day my food stylist/ chief taste tester- The Zizmaroo aka Zizwhizz worked her magic!

P.S: We used some very very berry hibiscus tea (has dried berries, hibiscus flower, lavender….and a bunch of other wonderful stuff to) garnish our ice cream.

STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com
STRAWBERRY AND RASPBERRY RIPPLE, NO-CHURN ICE CREAM |abidabuoroskitchen@wordpress.com

images-5

image-4 image-3

3 Comments Add yours

  1. looool!!! I love your ice-cream though *wink*.
    No, the *wink* has no connotation to it.

  2. Shella says:

    Tool…kitchen tool…lmoa…so hilarious.

    As i kept reading…i was like…noooo, she made ice cream????nooo waayyy….smh…am so blessed to know such a super woman..:) lol…gatta steal this recipe and make it at home too.

Leave a Reply

