PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE

Is yummy mommy- Zizmaroo

She says this about everything I cook!! She is wise beyond her years!!! And NO! I do not give her a “you’d better say it’s yummy or no toys for you” look…. that I reserve that look for when we have no company!

PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Over the weekend I used butternut squash for my Butternut squash pizza with a mint & cashew nut pesto, topped with sage & a basalmic reduction drizzle, and I only used 6 thin slices of the pizza so the rest of the butternut was just screaming out to me DO COOK ME….soooo logically I took a skiing holiday…I wish! So I came up with a killer butternut recipe.

*Whispering* I know I promised my no-churn ice-cream recipe…I promise that will be my next post!

First I have to share my numero uno (yeah I speak Spanish…..if you watched as much Dora the Explorer as I do -courtesy of Zizmaroo, then you would habla español too!!). As I was saying,my numero uno tip for peeling butternut squash is….microwave butternut for 30 seconds- 1 minute (depending on the size of your squash) this will make the rock hard skin acquiesce to your knife/peeler like an eager telenovela starlet (lets call her Juanita she plays the maid) to the leading man (we’ll call him Don Miguel- the devilishly handsome Owner of the Hacienda who was tricked into marriage by the Evil and conniving Esperanza)!….I cannot fathom how anyone can stand to watch that visual vomit…..why can’t we all just watch progressive television, like the Real Housewives franchise, Duck Dynasty, Love and Hip Hop Atlanta…. the L.A chapter is bit snooze inducing or even some program on Discovery science ( see how I casually threw in discovery science, throwing you off the fact that I’m a reality T.V junkie whose sophisticated taste levels would not allow her to watch telenovela’s!!!)

Once Don Miguel has peeled the clothes off Juanita…….Sorry still caught up in that story line! Once you’ve peeled the butternut squash,  cube it into 1/2 inch-ish pieces.

✦⊱ཞ Ingredientsཞ⊰✦

  • 1 Butternut Squash…..I have no idea what the weight was….I was just asking use of my left overs….so lay off with the pressure!!!
  • 1 cup peas
  • 1 Medium Sized onion
  • 1/2 a cup fresh sage leaves
  • 2 Tbsps Sunflower oil
  • 2 Royco cubes
  • 2 tsps Cayenne pepper
  • 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 200 ml Coconut cream
  • Water on standby…in the event that:
  1. You can’t stand the heat….but then you can’t leave the kitchen coz that butternut has to be cooked by someone
  2. You are replaying the steamy scene where Don Miguel “takes” Juanita in the stables (see my attempt at writing a telenovela skit above)
  3. Or your butternut curry is sticking to the bottom of your pot /the Non in your non-stick pot left the building a long time ago/ the teflon on your pan went down your drain…and probably your alimentary canal too!

✦⊱ཞ Directions ཞ⊰✦

Slice the onion into small cubes, heat the oil in a pot and salute the onion.

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Once the onions have softened, add in the Royco cubes, Cayenne pepper and stir, then add the tomato paste, cook for about a min.

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Add the butternut to the pot and stir, cook for about 2 mins.

PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Add the Sage leaves and stir that pot honey!stir it!

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Cover the pot with a lid and let the magic happen.

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Ensure you stir from time to time and add water as and when needed to so that the butternut doesn’t stick to the bottom of your pot. I used a cake tester to check the firmness of the butternut to determine whether they were cooked or not. If your fork gets resistance half way through the squash then add your frozen peas (and water if needed).

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

once the peas are cooked…serve with white rice.

Oh NO! I forgot to tell you add the coconut….so 2 days later…I’m telling you add the can of coconut cream and let it simmer for a few minutes. AND THEN SERVE!!!

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Then Proceed to letting your cutie pie chief tester certify wether or not your butternut curry is any good….if you don’t have one of these (the testers) then go back to step 0 ( involves clothes being ripped off…or not depending on your preference!) and mad wild almost rabid (don’t look at me strangely) …….I will let you finish this off! Just don’t let involve someone beating you with squash like Emo Phillips quote below initimates!

Women: you can’t live with them and you can’t get them to dress up in a skimpy little Nazi costume and beat you with a warm squash or something. – Emo Phillips

I don’t like it when people talk of doing bad thing to/with vegetables! Hihihihi!

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

Oh and make sure to take any pointless pictures! And use freakishly large font to explain the pointlessness of the picture.

PEA &BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com
PEA & BUTTERNUT COCONUT CURRY SERVED WITH RICE | abidabuoroskitchen.wordpress.com

image-4 image-3

3 Comments Add yours

  1. nthiongo says:

    lol… this i have to make. I am still coming for my goat btw…i hope it got ready. kisses.

  2. Maithya says:

    Hahahaha, Don Miguel and Juanita, butternut will sue you!!!……..and yes i saw the car seat

Leave a Reply

