SAGE AND GARLIC PENNE, WITH SAUSAGE & BACON IN A BASALMIC VINEGAR REDUCTION

So I know this girl, she kinda stole my heart and she calls me ‘mom’

postcard_003

Its Sunday, Zizmaroo and I are flying solo, I have caught the Sunday Lazy Bug, and the house show it – it looks like a girls gone wild set (not the Joe Francis variety!) I think I’d best rephrase, it looks like the set of little girls gone wild, with lego’s, push carts, story books and all manner of toys everywhere. The fridge is empty I can literally hear my thoughts echoing in it! and I really don’t feel like lifting a finger so what do I do? I lift a finger! because long gone are the days I’d drink a cuppa coffee if I was lazier than I was hungrier! I now have a lil miss pigmaroo who must eat when she wants to eat! A quick peek in my pantry and freezer helps me decide to whip up a one pan dish…well I used 2 pans but I won’t tell the pan police if you don’t!!

20150517_180146

In the freezer, I spy sausages and bacon, frozen basil pesto (I usually make large batches and freeze for use later : case in point-this particular lazy bug Sunday), in the pantry I have penne pasta, onions, garlic and in my small herb garden the sage was giving me wise ideas (did you notice what I did there with the sage and wise ideas?!) – so logically I decide to make ice-cream… JUST KIDDING! I was hoping to shock you into reading the rest of this post… Pweeze weed the west of this post, pweetey pweeze …baby talk should be a language!

20150517_170924
I imagine this is Zizmaroos view of the kitchen counter!

Ingredients:

  • Parmesan Cheese for garnishing
  • 250g Penne pasta (or whichever pasta you have spaghetti, tagliatelle and any other can work just as well)
  • 2 heaped Tsp basil pesto
  • 2 tsp freshly ground black peppercorns
  • 1/4 cup loosely packed fresh sage leaves
  • 2 Tsp Olive oil
  • 100g Bacon (streaky, back, collar bacon…doesn’t matter!)
  • 4 sausages
  • I guess used 1/4 cup basalmic vinegar (If you dint get the memo…cooking is not about preciscion…it can’t be when you are sipping wine as you cook… somewhere along the way you lose track of what went where! and to W.C Field’s quote below👇all I have to say is PREACH! PREACH!)

    Source: Pinterest
    Source: Pinterest.                                     Between you and I, I don’t drink wine…but I do love a good wine joke!  
  • 1 medium-sized onion
  • 4 Cloves garlic

For the Pesto: 

  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup Pine nuts (you can substitute with macadamia nuts)
  • 1/2 cup Olive oil
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan-Reggiano cheese
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions:

For the Pesto:

The Easy Peasy Way:

Toss in the basil, garlic and nuts into a food processor and pulse it till it’s all mixed up, then add the olive oil pulse again, mix in the parmesan cheese, add salt and pepper to taste and voila! you have basil pesto.

The not so Easy Peasy Way:

Now if you are like me and you don’t own a food processor you will just have to use a motar and pestle to crush all your  ingredients for the pesto,once you have a good consistency, add the salt and pepper to taste. if you need to release a little pent up aggression and you don’t necessarily have access to a significant other punching bag then this is the perfect activity. It is quite arduous but the pesto is well worth breaking a sweat over…. sidebar-there are 3 things in life worth breaking a sweat over:

  1. A good romp in the sack (wink! wink! whoop! whoop!)
  2. Fresh home made pesto
  3. Your life’s purpose

Boil water and cook the penne pasta al dente

Fry the sausages.

In a ‘stick’-pan (the ‘non’ in my non-stick pan left the building a long time ago, if yours is still non-stick then it is with envy that I tell you to use it!) pour in your olive oil, add 1 heaped Tsp of the Pesto and sauté the onions, add the sage leaves and stir for a minute.

What garlic is to food, insanity is to art. – Anonymous

Slice the garlic into not-so thin cylindrical slices {allow me take a little tangent…I know people who think the only way to cook with garlic is to literally pound (that’s what she said!) the life out of garlic – this is totally fine because it releases more essential oils than simply slicing and as earlier mentioned, there are situations that call for this, for instance releasing pent-up aggression (significant others punching bags the world over heave a sigh of relief!); But there are instances when you can let it shine say if you are baking or braising meat or veggies, all you have to do is peel the garlic and just cook it whole, for this particular dish I sliced the garlic into ‘not so thin’ circles [if you are reading this hoping I will mention how any millimetres equate to ‘not so thin’, I suggest you grab a drink because you’ll be waiting a while!] 

Toss in the sliced bacon pieces it’s now time for the garlic to join the ‘pan party’, cook it for a further minute; Pour in the basalmic vinegar and reduce it. Once the sausages are cooked, slice them and toss the into the pan.

Once the pasta is cooked, drain it, leaving a little of the cooking liquid (approximately 2 Tbsp) Add the pasta to the ‘Pan Party’ I spoke of earlier and toss. Spoon in the remaining pesto, sprinkle the ground pepper on the ‘pan party that has now graduated to an all out ‘Rave’…I don’t know what the kids call it these days!

Plate your pasta, shave some parmesan cheese as a garnish and top off with some sage leaves AND THEN let the party continue in your mouth!

postcard_001

image-4

image-3

Leave a Reply

